GeekRadar / The comparison desk
Sony LYT818 vs Sony LYT900
The sensor, in perspective.
Capture area at a shared scale. The dashed outline is a 36 × 24 mm full-frame reference.
Sony LYT818
- Sensor area indexGeometric · full frame = 100From declared pixel array and pixel size.
- 8.7
- Active dimensions
- 9.99 × 7.49 mm
- Active area
- 74.88 mm²
- Crop factor
- 3.46 ×
- Area vs full frame
- -3.53 stops
Sony LYT900
Approximate area only. Width and height are unknown, so no sensor outline or crop factor is inferred.
- Sensor area indexEstimated · full frame = 100From native pixel pitch and sensor resolution.
- ≈ 14.8*
- Active dimensions
- —
- Estimated area
- ≈ 128* mm²
- Crop factor
- —
- Area vs full frame
- —
The index is calculated from area, assuming equal scene illumination, f-number and exposure time. It is not a low-light test or an image-quality score: lens transmission, quantum efficiency, noise and processing are not included. A crop mode changes the area used, not the physical sensor.
Dynamic range ≠ EV operating range. Autofocus and metering limits describe operating conditions. Manufacturer HDR claims appear separately below; independent dynamic-range measurements require a matched test method, ISO and noise threshold.
| At a glance | ||
|---|---|---|
| Release date | Not reported | Not reported |
| Sensor | ||
| Reference active width | 9.99 mm | Not reported |
| Reference active height | 7.49 mm | Not reported |
| Sensor diagonal | 12.49 mm | 16.38 mm |
| Effective sensor resolution | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Declared sensor resolution | 50 MP* | 50 MP* |
| Declared pixel size | 1.22 µm* | 1.6 µm* |
| Native pixel pitch | 1.22 µm | 1.6 µm |
| Optical format | 1/1.28-type | 1/0.98-type |
| Sensor technology | Stacked CMOS | Stacked CMOS |
| Reference capture area | 4:3 active area (derived from stated diagonal) | Not reported |
| Camera | ||
| Camera family | Image sensor | Image sensor |
| Sensor application | Smartphone | Smartphone |
| Shutter | Rolling* | Rolling* |
| Detailed specifications | Specifications 1 · 8 fields
Specifications 2 · 10 fields
| Specifications 1 · 7 fields
Specifications 2 · 10 fields
|
| Dynamic range · manufacturer claims |
| Not reported |
Devices using this sensor
- Main
- Main
- Main
Devices using this sensor
- Main
- Main
- Main
- Main
0 selected Compare 0
* Provisional data